Dear Senator Jon Ossoff, I Need Help.

Read on for a copy of my letter to my senator, and scroll down to learn what it means for all of us.

Kelli Lynn Grey
6 min readMay 12, 2021
Photo by MIKE STOLL on Unsplash

Hello,

First of all, congratulations on your historic win! I’m addressing this message to the entire team, as I realize Senator Ossoff’s victory is the result of a group effort. I placed my vote in the run-off right after having a CT scan at Grady Memorial Hospital. That scan led to a liver biopsy, and, the day I learned for certain that I have stage IV cancer, I walked hurriedly past Senator Ossoff as he stood outside Grady giving a press conference about the COVID vaccine. I was proudly wearing a mask adorned with my “GA Voter” sticker.

Anyway, I’m writing to your office today because I need help.

From COVID’s early arrival in November 2019 to present:

  1. I’ve finalized my divorce from my husband of 12 years/business partner of 9 years — who promptly moved permanently to Costa Rica, is currently recovering from a traumatic brain injury, and offers extremely limited personal and financial support to me and my children due mostly to his struggles with borderline personality and dissociative identity disorder and their complications.
  2. I’ve taken on virtually the entire burden of fulfilling the…

--

--

Kelli Lynn Grey

Neuro-divergent & chronically ill writer mom. Works w/ GA Center for Nonprofits & Education Without Limits. Author: Queen of Wands (soon) & Harvest (‘18)